Domain Map

“A domain is a large field of study (or body of work) such as interface design, children’s literacy, character animation, ecology, non-linear narrative or game design.” (Domains Guildline)

Below is an example of the domains that I’m working in for my thesis. Because I am focusing on the millenial generation as the subject of my commentary, I must be intimately familiar with their universal behaviors and attitudes, as well as the cultural beliefs they subscribe to. I need to look into not only the group, but also the people who write about and shape the millenial generation culture. Critical design is the approach I’m taking and product design is part of the methodology. My project is ultimately my opinion, and thus I’m making critical design pieces to convey my message, while the actual products I design will physical manifestations of the message. 

week11_domainmap1

Leave a comment